If I bring you no sufficient testimony that I have enjoyed the dearest bodily part of your mistress, my ten thousand ducats are yours, so is your diamond, too.

There is no question about which is the dearest bodily part, of course. And of course he means dear in the financial sense as well as in the beloved sense. It makes it so explicit what a woman’s worth is to these men. They are essentially bargaining with her sex. That’s it. It is so base, so crass, so vulgar. He’s couching it in language that could be mistaken for loving language – but he’s basically itemized this property and the property’s vagina is the most highly valued, according to the flesh appraisers. Which is all of them. And then Iachimo gives us actual numbers so we know how much. We know how much.

Published by erainbowd

I'm an artist. Sometimes theatre, sometimes literary, sometimes other. I've been a writer, actor, director, playwright, singer, songwriter, puppeteer, clown and more. I do some work as a Shakespeare Consultant and as a Feldenkrais practitioner. I'm also the world's most annoying palm-reader. To learn more go to my website: https://www.emilyrainbowdavis.com/

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started